World Bank: Countries Chosen as Forest Carbon Partnership Facility Members

First Countries Named to Benefit from Forest Carbon Partnership Facility 21 July 2008: Fourteen

developing countries - Bolivia, Costa Rica, the Democratic Republic of Congo,

Gabon, Ghana, Guyana, Kenya, Lao PDR, Liberia, Madagascar Mexico, Nepal,

Panama, and Vietnam - will be beneficiaries of funding from the Forest Carbon

Partnership Facility (FCPF), launched at the Bali climate negotiations. The

FCPF partners donor countries, the World Bank, and developing countries in an

effort to build capacity for reducing emissions from deforestation and forest


Donor countries

include Australia, Finland, France (the French Development Agency), Japan,

Norway, Spain, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the United States, which

collectively committed US$82 million for this first round of funds. Recipient

countries were chosen during a two-day meeting of the FCPF Steering Committee,

with assistance from a Technical Advisory Panel of experts. The funds will be

aimed at monitoring, establishment of baselines, and adoption of REDD efforts.


Bank Press Release] [Carbon Finance]