WMO Confers Awards and Prizes

The President of WMO, Mme Guiard-Gerbier, Drs Yeshanew and Jury, the winners of the 2008 Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award (front row, left to right), with the Permanent Representative of France with WMO, the Secretary-General, the Ambassador of Ethiopia, and the Assistant Secretary-General (back row). Credit: WMO

26 June 2008: During its sixtieth Session, which took

place from 18-27 June 2008, the World Meteorological Organization's (WMO)

Executive Council conferred the fifty-third IMO Prize, the Organization's most

prestigious award, to Qin Dahe (China) for his scientific research and for

promoting international cooperation in meteorology.

Qin Dahe, former Administrator of China's

Meteorological Administration and Permanent Representative of China with WMO,

is currently a Co-Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

Working Group I. The IMO Prize originates from WMO's predecessor, the

International Meteorological Organization (IMO). and is awarded annually to

individuals for outstanding work in the field of meteorology or hydrology. The Council also

conferred the 2009 Norbert Gerbier-MUMM

International award

on Drs. K. Krishna Kumar, Balaji Rajagopalan, Martin Hoerling, Gary Bates and

Mark Cane for their paper entitled “Unraveling the Mystery of Indian Monsoon

Failure during El Niño,” published in Science

in October 2006 (Volume 314).  One of the

two 2008 WMO Research Awards for Young Scientists was won by Mary-Jane Kgatuke

(South Africa) for her co-authored paper entitled “The internal variability of

the RegCM3 over South Africa,” published in the International Journal of Climatology.

In her research, Kgatuke conducted regional climate downscaling experiments to

study the variability of model rainfall over South Africa. The second Award

went to Dr. Ying Sun (China) for her co-authored paper entitled “How often does

it rain?” published in the Journal of Climate. The article evaluates the

precipitation intensity, frequency and amount simulated by seventeen global

climate models by comparing the model results with worldwide observations. [WMO

Press Release]