UNFCCC Secretariat Receives Kyoto Protocol Amendment Submissions

12 June 2009: The UNFCCC Secretariat has received four submissions containing proposals for amendments to the Kyoto Protocol, which will be communicated to parties. The Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties (COP/MOP) to the Kyoto Protocol will consider these proposals at its fifth session in December 2009.

The submissions are from: China, on behalf of Algeria, Benin, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, El Salvador, Gambia, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritius, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Togo, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe (FCCC/KP/CMP/2009/7); Colombia (FCCC/KP/CMP/2009/8); Belarus (FCCC/KP/CMP/2009/9); and Australia (FCCC/KP/CMP/2009/10). [China's Submission][Colombia's Submission][Belarus' Submission][Australia's Submission]