UNFCCC Partners with East African Development Bank to Promote Regional Distribution of CDM Projects

UNFCCC12 February 2013: The Secretariat of the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) has entered into a partnership with the East African Development Bank (EADB) to establish a regional collaboration center in Uganda, as part of efforts to improve the regional distribution of Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) projects.

The regional collaboration center is intended to help increase participation in the CDM and increase the region's attractiveness and potential for CDM projects by, among other things: building capacity; supporting the identification of CDM projects; providing project design assistance; and offering opportunities to reduce transaction costs.

The partnership agreement was signed by UNFCCC Executive Secretary Christiana Figueres and EADB Director General Vivienne Yeda. This center is the second regional collaboration center to be established in Africa, with the first established in Lomé, Togo, in October 2012.

The center is intended to serve over 20 countries in the region, including Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Libya, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe. It is expected to be operational as of 1 May 2013 and will be hosted by the EADB. [UNFCCC Press Release] [IISD RS Story on UNFCCC Side Event on Enhancing Regional Distribution of the CDM]