UNEP Risoe Centre Assesses Emission Reduction Opportunities in 15 ACP Countries

UNEP RISO Centre11 June 2013: The UN Environment Programme (UNEP) Risoe Centre has released a compilation report assessing the status of Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) development, capacity building and opportunities in 15 Africa, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries. The report aims to inform decisions on policy making and project development to reduce emissions of greenhouse gases (GHGs) in the assessed countries and beyond.

The 15 countries include Angola, Belize, Burkina Faso, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Fiji, Ghana, Haiti, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Myanmar, Rwanda, São Tomé and Principe, Senegal, and Trinidad and Tobago.

The report, prepared by the UNEP Risoe Centre with the support of Designated National Authorities (DNAs), the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) Secretariat and the ACP-Multilateral Environment Agreement (MEA) Programme, assesses the emissions reduction potential in 15 diverse countries, not seen as obvious targets for emissions reduction activities.

The report concludes that all emission reductions initiatives in these countries are dwarfed by the main cause of emissions in these countries, namely deforestation. It therefore concludes that this source of emissions should be addressed with priority. [Publication: Profile of Emission Reductions Potentials in Developing Countries] [UNEP Risoe Centre Website]