UNEP announces 2008 Champions of the Earth Award Winners

Insertimage_unepUNEP has announced the winners of the 2008 Champions of the Earth award for spearheading initiatives in many different areas, from environmental policy to cutting-edge research, with a particular focus on sustainable development and the fight against climate change.

The Champions of the Earth prize, which will be officially awarded at a ceremony in Singapore on 22 April, recognizes individuals from each region of the world who have shown extraordinary leadership on environmental issues.


The 2008 Champions of the Earth are: Prince Albert II of Monaco; former US Senator Timothy E. Wirth; New Zealand's Prime Minister Helen Clark; Balgis Osman-Elasha, a senior researcher at Sudan's Higher Council for Environment & Natural Resources; Atiq Rahman, the Executive Director of the Bangladesh Centre for Advanced Studies; Liz Thompson, the former Energy and Environment Minister of Barbados; and Abdul-Qader Ba-Jammal, the Secretary General of the Yemen People's General Congress.


Earth Awards | World Environmental Day 2008Press Release |