UN-REDD Programme Policy Board Invites Eight New Observer Countries

8 March 2010: Costa Rica, Kenya, Mexico, Nigeria, the Philippines, Republic of Congo, Solomon Islands, and Sudan have been invited to join the UN-REDD Programme Policy Board as observer countries.

With these additions, the UN-REDD (reducing emissions from deforestation and forest degradation in developing countries) Programme now includes 13 observer countries, along with 9 pilot countries. While UN-REDD funding is programmed for pilot countries, observer countries can take advantage of networking and knowledge-sharing benefits facilitated by the Programme. Yemi Katerere, Head of the UN-REDD Programme, stated that the new additions “will undoubtedly enrich the Programme's strong community of practice with valuable REDD+ inputs and contributions.” [UN-REDD Press Release]