Monaco Accepts Doha Amendment to Kyoto Protocol

UNFCCC27 December 2013: Monaco has become the fifth party to the Kyoto Protocol to accept the Doha amendment, which formalizes commitments for the period 2013-2020, the second commitment period of the Protocol.

The amendment to the Protocol was adopted by decision 1/CMP.8 at the eighth session of the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol (CMP) in Doha, Qatar, in December 2012. Depositing its instrument of acceptance to the Depository on 27 December 2013, Monaco follows the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Barbados, Mauritius and Bangladesh, all of whom deposited their instruments earlier in 2013.

The amendment will enter into force when 144 or three-quarters of parties to the Protocol have submitted instruments of acceptance. [Doha Amendment]