Kenya Accepts Doha Amendment to Kyoto Protocol

UNFCCC28 April 2014: Kenya has become the ninth party to the Kyoto Protocol to accept the Doha Amendment, which formalizes commitments for the second commitment period of the Kyoto Protocol (2013-2020).

The Doha Amendment to the Protocol was adopted by decision 1/CMP.8 at the eighth session of the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol (CMP), which took place in Doha, Qatar, in December 2012.

Depositing its instrument of acceptance to the Depository on 28 April 2014, Kenya follows Honduras, the Federated States of Micronesia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Barbados, Mauritius, Bangladesh, Sudan and Monaco, all of whom have accepted the amendment. The amendment will enter into force when 144 or three-quarters of parties to the Protocol have submitted instruments of acceptance. [UNFCCC Website] [Doha Amendment Website] [Doha Amendment] [Procedure for the Amendment's Acceptance]