IRENA Statute to Enter Into Force on 8 July 2010

11 June 2010: As of 8 June 2010, 25 countries had ratified the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) Statute. IRENA's Statute enters into force one month after the 25th Signatory has ratified the Statute and deposited its instrument of ratification with the Depository. Accordingly, IRENA will become a fully-fledged international organisation on 8 July 2010.

Helen Pelosse, IRENA Interim Director General, underlined the speed of IRENA's ratification process, noting that it "demonstrates the high level of interest being shown in IRENA by the Member States.” IRENA is headquartered in Abu Dhabi, and aims to promote a swift transition towards the sustainable use of renewable energy.

To date, 144 countries and the EU have signed IRENA's mandate. The 25 countries that have ratified it are: Armenia, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Georgia, Germany, Iceland, India, Israel, Kenya, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Maldives, Mongolia, Montenegro, Norway, Palau, Poland, Republic of Korea, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Tonga and United Arab Emirates. [IRENA Press Release]