IRENA Reports on Recent Ratifications

23 February 2011: Since 1 January 2011, seven countries have ratified the International Renewable Energy Agency's (IRENA) treaty, bringing the total number of its member States to 57.

The seven countries that have recently joined the Agency are: Australia, Ecuador, Monaco, Cape Verde, Sri Lanka, Belarus and Finland. To date, 149 States have signed the IRENA treaty. With the mandate of these governments, IRENA will aim to promote increased adoption and sustainable use of renewable energy by facilitating access to renewable energy information, and enabling the sharing of experiences on best practices and lessons learned in policy, capacity building, financing and energy efficiency. [IRENA Website]