Federated States of Micronesia Accepts Doha Amendment to Kyoto Protocol

UNFCCC19 February 2014: The Federated States of Micronesia has become the seventh party to the Kyoto Protocol to accept the Doha Amendment, which formalizes commitments for the period 2013-2020, the second commitment period of the Kyoto Protocol.

The Doha Amendment to the Protocol was adopted by decision 1/CMP.8 at the eighth session of the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol (CMP), which took place in Doha, Qatar, in December 2012.

Depositing its instrument of acceptance to the Depository on 19 February, the Federated States of Micronesia follows the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Barbados, Mauritius, Bangladesh, Sudan and Monaco, all of whom have ratified the amendment. The amendment will enter into force when 144 or three-quarters of parties to the Protocol have submitted instruments of acceptance. [Doha Amendment Website] [Doha Amendment] [Procedure for the Amendment's Acceptance]