Eight Countries Ratify IRENA Treaty

18 March 2011: The International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) has reported that eight countries have ratified its treaty, bringing the total number of member States to 65.

The run-up to IRENA's first Assembly, to meet 4-5 April 2011 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, has seen a rush to deposit instruments of ratification by signatory States. The eight countries that have ratified IRENA's treaty since 1 March 2011 are: France, Gambia, Lithuania, Mexico, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, and the US.

With the mandate of these governments, IRENA will aim to promote increased adoption and sustainable use of renewable energy by facilitating access to renewable energy information, and enabling the sharing of experiences on best practices and lessons learned in policy, capacity building, financing and energy efficiency. [IRENA Website]