COMESA Receives US$100 Million to Support Adaptation and Mitigation

ComesaOctober 2013: The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) Climate Initiative has announced that it has received US$100 million from development partners to support climate change adaptation and mitigation in the region, including climate proofing the Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP) in the region.

Announced at the Regional CAADP Compact Validation Meeting held in September 2013, in Lusaka, Zambia, the funding will be made available through two funding windows, with the first tranche to be used for supporting government-led interventions. The second tranche of funding will be available for projects carried out by civil society and the private sector.

Funding was received from the EU and the Governments of Norway and the UK. The member States of COMESA are: Burundi, Comoros, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Seychelles, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. [COMESA Press Release] [COMESA Climate Initiative Website]