CDM Executive Board Meets, Elect New Chair

Rajesh_kumar_sethiThe Executive Board of the Kyoto Protocol's Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) has met recently in Bonn, Germany. The Board held its 37th meeting from 30 January-1 February 2008, and elected Rajesh Kumar Sethi (India) as the new Chair. Lex de Jonge (Netherlands) will become the Vice-Chair. Both positions are for a one-year term. The Board also appointed Chairs and Vice-Chairs for its Accreditation Panel, Methodologies Panel, Afforestation and Reforestation Working Group, and Small-Scale Working Group.


terms of its substantive agenda, the Board considered the accreditation

of operational entities, and methodologies for baselines and monitoring

plans. It approved revised, simplified methodologies in relation to

small-scale CDM project activities, reviewed the registration of CDM

project activities, and took note of the fact that 909 project

activities had been registered as of 1 February 2008. The Board also

reviewed a number of requests for project registration.


addition, the Board discussed recent guidance given to it by the Third

Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the

Kyoto Protocol, held in Bali in December 2007.

Press Release | CBD |