Arctic Council Task Force Discusses Advancing Scientific Cooperation

Arctic Council23 July 2014: The Scientific Cooperation Task Force (SCTF) of the Arctic Council held its third meeting and exchanged views on a draft document related to advancing scientific cooperation among the Arctic States. The Task Force will continue working on the document at its next meeting in September in Tromsø, Norway.

The final document will be presented at the next Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting, which will be hosted by Canada in 2015.

The third meeting of the Task Force, which convened in Reykjavik, Iceland, from 27-28 May 2014, brought together over 40 delegates, including representatives from, inter alia: the eight Arctic Council States; the Arctic Council's Permanent Participants; and the Arctic Council Working Groups. The Task Force is chaired jointly by the US, Sweden and the Russian Federation, and was established in May 2013 by the Arctic Council's Kiruna Declaration, with the objective of working towards an arrangement on improved scientific research cooperation among the Arctic States.

The Arctic Council was formally established in 1996 as a high level intergovernmental forum to promote cooperation, coordination and interaction among Arctic States, with the involvement of Arctic indigenous communities and other relevant stakeholders on common Arctic issues, in particular those related to sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic. [Arctic Council Press Release]