APEC Leaders’ Meeting Addresses Climate Change

apec15 November 2009: Leaders of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) convened for their 17th meeting, titled ‚ÄúSustaining Growth, Connecting the Region,‚ÄĚ in Singapore on 14-15 November 2009, and discussed climate change, among other issues.

In the resulting declaration, APEC leaders reaffirm their commitment to work towards an ambitious outcome in Copenhagen, within the UNFCCC objectives, provisions and principles. They commit to enhance work on meeting the goal of increasing forest cover in the region by at least 20 million hectares of all types of forests by 2020, and express support for REDD under the UNFCCC. They further recognize the role of oceans in mitigating climate change, and the impact of climate change on oceans and coastal areas.

APEC leaders also commit to: ensure that efforts to address climate change are consistent with international trade obligations; rationalize and phase out over the medium term fossil fuel subsidies encouraging wasteful consumption, while recognizing the importance of providing those in need with essential energy services; take steps to facilitate the diffusion of climate-friendly technologies, including through economic and technical cooperation and capacity-building activities; and share best practices in energy efficiency.

APEC leaders agreed to review progress at a meeting in 2010. APEC members are: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, the Russian Federation, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, the US and Viet Nam. [APEC Press Release] [The Declaration]